If you have a tendency of installing every other plugin on your website and deactivate when you don’t use it. Beware these inactive plugins can be really harmful for your website in several ways. You must remove any inactive plugin which you are not using since long time or it was installed for hit and trial purpose only :
- It can be used as backdoor entries by hackers to access your website by breaching WordPress Security. It usually may happen as you don’t regularly update these inactive plugins which may cause vulnerabilities that are exploited by hackers.
- These inactive plugins eat up precious resources on your server and sometimes creates scarcity for active plugins.
- These plugins may have created certain tables in the database which may lie there forever even if you delete the plugin. You can learn how to properly remove a WordPress plugin here.
- They clutter your admin panel as you will keep receiving update notifications and other warnings related to these inactive plugins. It may create a lot of confusion.
- If in case a new person start managing your website, he will surely face trouble in understanding the inactive plugins as which of them are made inactive for short term and which are not useful at all.’
- Hosting service provider never likes websites with a lot of inactive plugin and their virus scanner keep raising virus alerts regarding such plugins. You must take these warnings seriously as they may block your outbound port which may cause issues in functioning of your website.
- If your outbound port gets blocked due to these inactive plugins you will not be able to add new plugins to your website.
- A lot of WordPress plugin authors are free lancer and may stop supporting their plugins anytime, so if think that you may use such plugins in future will not be a good idea.
- Inactive plugins may create issues when the WordPress core receives some major updates.
- Last but not the least spammers may use these abandoned plugins to spam your website with ad links and other harmful stuff.
Considering the seriousness of the issue, you should always delete a plugin if you don’t plan to use it in near future.